Check and update the timezone in Ubuntu Operating System

Check and set the time zone in Ubuntu Operating System

Check the timezone in Ubuntu Operating System:

#timedatectl

root@Oracle1:/home/sunny/Desktop# timedatectl

               Local time: Sun 2023-01-01 12:29:09 IST

           Universal time: Sun 2023-01-01 06:59:09 UTC

                 RTC time: Sun 2023-01-01 06:59:09

                Time zone: Asia/Kolkata (IST, +0530)

System clock synchronized: yes

              NTP service: active

          RTC in local TZ: no

Update the time zone in Ubuntu Operating system

Check the list of timezone in Ubuntu Operating system

timedatectl list-timezones


root@Oracle1:/home/sunny/Desktop# timedatectl list-timezones

Africa/Abidjan

Africa/Accra

..........
..........
America/Los_Angeles

America/Louisville


timedatectl set-timezone Region/Location

--change the timezone to America as show below:
timedatectl set-timezone America/Los_Angeles

root@Oracle1:/home/sunny/Desktop# timedatectl set-timezone America/Los_Angeles



root@Oracle1:/home/sunny/Desktop# timedatectl

               Local time: Sat 2022-12-31 23:05:35 PST

           Universal time: Sun 2023-01-01 07:05:35 UTC

                 RTC time: Sun 2023-01-01 07:05:35

                Time zone: America/Los_Angeles (PST, -0800)

System clock synchronized: yes

              NTP service: active

          RTC in local TZ: no



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.